The FCBG Childrens Book Award- Anisha: Accidental Detective by Serena Patel

When I first reviewed the debut Anisha novel, I knew that Serena Patel had created something special, and with the publication of each book, both Littlefae and I have been swept away in these young reader mysteries that explore so much more than the social or interpersonal problem presented, and yet capture the very real … Continue reading The FCBG Childrens Book Award- Anisha: Accidental Detective by Serena Patel

Furthermoor – Darren Simpson featuring chapter excerpt.

Furthermoor Darren Simpson

I’ve been a huge fan of Darren’s writing since his debut Scavengers reframed the landscape of Middle Grade writing for me. His writing is like a rich tapestry that transports us into deeply imagined worlds but also challenging and introspective, unflinchingly so, on the emotional landscape of children, particularly boys as they navigate the changing world … Continue reading Furthermoor – Darren Simpson featuring chapter excerpt.

Notable Non-Fiction & Guest Post: Amazing Animals by Sabrina Weiss, illustrated by Paul Daviz

Amazing Animals by Sabrina Weiss

When a book arrives that elicits oohs and aaaahs from adults like my Grandmother who isn’t usually interested in non-fiction you know this is something truly special. Not simply visually stunning, this book has the added value of being packed with facts that do actually stand up to the tagline of 100+ Creatures That Will Boggle … Continue reading Notable Non-Fiction & Guest Post: Amazing Animals by Sabrina Weiss, illustrated by Paul Daviz

Circus Maximus: Rivals on the Track – Annelise Gray with Guest Feature by Annelise Gray

Circus Maximus Rivals On The Track Annelise Grey

Last year I wrote enthusiastically about the first book in this series Race to The Death partially for its keen historical observation, and by this education by stealth; but equally so for its storycraft, total immersion in Dido’s world that evokes the greatest stories of literature, those that pull us in and care from the … Continue reading Circus Maximus: Rivals on the Track – Annelise Gray with Guest Feature by Annelise Gray

Review & Guest Feature: Blurring genres with The Ash House by Angharad Walker

The ash House by Angharad Walker

I devoured this book and my immediate thoughts were please Chicken House I want some more?! I want to know what happens next and how did the protagonist Sol even arrive at this mysterious place!!! That or just hungry to slip into Angharad’s writing and worlds again!! In my review I reflect on the surreal … Continue reading Review & Guest Feature: Blurring genres with The Ash House by Angharad Walker

Author Feature: Diary of an Accidental Witch – Perdita & Honor Cargill illustrated by Katie Saunders.

Diary of an accidental witch by Honor and perdita cargill

Today we are celebrating Diary of An Accidental Witch, a gorgeously fun diary style book ideal for fans of Amelia Fang, Sam Wu and Tom Gates. I am honoured to be hosting a reflection by Perdita and Honor Cargill on the joys and creative freedom of writing a witchy book and have been sharing Bea's … Continue reading Author Feature: Diary of an Accidental Witch – Perdita & Honor Cargill illustrated by Katie Saunders.