#20BooksOfSummer 4: The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis

#20BooksOfSummer is an annual event hosted by Cathy Brown of 746 Books and runs from 3rd June until 3rd September With the aim to clearing a target of 5, 10 or 20 books from your TBR but with very relaxed and fun rules. Here is my joining post & List! I've been sent using these books for a … Continue reading #20BooksOfSummer 4: The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis

The Dragon in the Library – Louie Stowell, Illustrated by Davide Ortu

I can't believe it's finally here!!! The Dragon in the Library caught my attention on twitter at the start of the year simply for the incredibly imaginative context, I was drawn by magical realism and stories of witches, wizards and magical creatures. However, the author Louie Stowell expanded on some details including the fact that … Continue reading The Dragon in the Library – Louie Stowell, Illustrated by Davide Ortu

Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day- Dominique Valente

This is such a beautiful book with whimsy and deeply fantastical world building yet an undercurrent of pithy social observation. Dragons, trolls, monsters from under the bed and more!! Punctuated and annotated throughout with gorgeous illustrations by Sarah Warburton this book is a beautiful gift to childhood imagination and perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett's … Continue reading Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day- Dominique Valente

The Boy who Grew Dragons – Andy Shepherd Illustrated by Sarah Ogilvie

This post is participating in #KidBookBingo organised and hosted by @AnnalieseAvery on Twitter. Every day there is an opportunity to post a review of the book of the day. We were late to this party as I originally wanted this to be something that Littlefae might read with me which is why I held out … Continue reading The Boy who Grew Dragons – Andy Shepherd Illustrated by Sarah Ogilvie

Have you seen my Blankie? Lucy Rowland and Paula Metcalf

This gorgeous rhyming story about being kind both to others and to yourself is a brilliant little story encouraging young children to be assertive but not aggressive in their peer interactions. Littlefae loves the way that Princess Alice gets her Blankie back AND solves the problem by eventually finding the Teddy to share with Dragon. … Continue reading Have you seen my Blankie? Lucy Rowland and Paula Metcalf

When a dragon comes to stay Caryl Hart & Rosalind Beardshaw

Dragons get a bad reputation, in Caryl Hart and Rosalind Beardshaw’s super sweet ‘When a Dragon Comes to Stay’ a trio of friends show how dragons can really be wonderfully behaved creatures, not at all stroppy or shouty when they try in this guide to manners for young children. A Dragon comes to visit and … Continue reading When a dragon comes to stay Caryl Hart & Rosalind Beardshaw