Rita Wong and the Jade Mask- Mark Jones with illustrations by Seamus Jennings

Rita Wong and the Jade Mask by Mark Jones

Rita Wong and the Jade Mask is a curious story. It has this whimsical feel that has whispers from a wide range of modern MG influences, of Pages & Co, Podkin and Stubbs and Dragon Detective meets with portal magic, tumbling into a strange magical world like The Midnight Hour trilogy. It’s very different from … Continue reading Rita Wong and the Jade Mask- Mark Jones with illustrations by Seamus Jennings

The Puffin Portal Vashti Hardy illustrated by Natalie Smillie 

The Puffin portal by Vashti Hardy and Natalie Smillie

You may have guessed that I’m a huge fan of Vashti Hardy’s writing and she’s a wonderful person too ! The Puffin Portal is the sequel to her first collaboration with Barrington Stoke The Griffin Gate, a tale that blends the Hardy-verse of STEM steeped societies and steam punkery into it in accessible form for … Continue reading The Puffin Portal Vashti Hardy illustrated by Natalie Smillie 

A Galway Fairytale/ Síscéal Ó Ghaillimh by Caitriona Sweeney

A Galway Fairytale Síscéal Ó Ghaillimh by Caitriona Sweeney

The most beautiful twin books came through my door last Saturday from O’Brien Press. Caitriona Sweeney’s dreamy watercolours swirl around a modern fairytale firmly orientated in Galway and available in Gaelic too. A Galway Fairytale or Síscéal Ó Ghaillimh tells the tale of Séan and Gráinne’s journey into Galway market to buy their mother a … Continue reading A Galway Fairytale/ Síscéal Ó Ghaillimh by Caitriona Sweeney

Blossom – Laura Dockrill & Sara Ogilvie 

Blossom Laura Dockrill, Sara Ogilvie

Blossom is Laura’s second collaboration with Sara Ogilvie for Barrington Stoke, and once again explores candidly the wobbly life of a young inner city child on the precipice of change.  These snapshots of life, of real experiences told with honesty and innocence are truly a gift to any reader.  Laura Dockrill’s writing reminds me of … Continue reading Blossom – Laura Dockrill & Sara Ogilvie 

Author Feature: Diary of an Accidental Witch – Perdita & Honor Cargill illustrated by Katie Saunders.

Diary of an accidental witch by Honor and perdita cargill

Today we are celebrating Diary of An Accidental Witch, a gorgeously fun diary style book ideal for fans of Amelia Fang, Sam Wu and Tom Gates. I am honoured to be hosting a reflection by Perdita and Honor Cargill on the joys and creative freedom of writing a witchy book and have been sharing Bea's … Continue reading Author Feature: Diary of an Accidental Witch – Perdita & Honor Cargill illustrated by Katie Saunders.

Harley Hitch and the Iron Forest – Vashti Hardy illustrated by George Ermos

Harley Hitch and the Iron Forest by Vashti Hardy

Harley Hitch, a highly illustrated chapter book came out earlier this year to high acclaim but I’ve let this book grow a little longer in my heart…. Along with the strawberry seeds that were sent to me with my copy. Our own Grandpa Eden strawberry plants are a year away from fruiting BUT I’ve been … Continue reading Harley Hitch and the Iron Forest – Vashti Hardy illustrated by George Ermos