The Puffin Portal Vashti Hardy illustrated by Natalie Smillie 

The Puffin portal by Vashti Hardy and Natalie Smillie

You may have guessed that I’m a huge fan of Vashti Hardy’s writing and she’s a wonderful person too ! The Puffin Portal is the sequel to her first collaboration with Barrington Stoke The Griffin Gate, a tale that blends the Hardy-verse of STEM steeped societies and steam punkery into it in accessible form for … Continue reading The Puffin Portal Vashti Hardy illustrated by Natalie Smillie 

Author Feature: Diary of an Accidental Witch – Perdita & Honor Cargill illustrated by Katie Saunders.

Diary of an accidental witch by Honor and perdita cargill

Today we are celebrating Diary of An Accidental Witch, a gorgeously fun diary style book ideal for fans of Amelia Fang, Sam Wu and Tom Gates. I am honoured to be hosting a reflection by Perdita and Honor Cargill on the joys and creative freedom of writing a witchy book and have been sharing Bea's … Continue reading Author Feature: Diary of an Accidental Witch – Perdita & Honor Cargill illustrated by Katie Saunders.

Harley Hitch and the Iron Forest – Vashti Hardy illustrated by George Ermos

Harley Hitch and the Iron Forest by Vashti Hardy

Harley Hitch, a highly illustrated chapter book came out earlier this year to high acclaim but I’ve let this book grow a little longer in my heart…. Along with the strawberry seeds that were sent to me with my copy. Our own Grandpa Eden strawberry plants are a year away from fruiting BUT I’ve been … Continue reading Harley Hitch and the Iron Forest – Vashti Hardy illustrated by George Ermos

Sindhu and Jeet’s Detective Agency by Chitra Soundar illustrated by Amberin Huq

You may have realised if you have read my blog before that I do love a mystery: historical, contemporary, fantastical- I’m in my happy place when I can play in the world of a mystery.  And so are my daughters, which is why I’m absolutely loving the current wave of young illustrated mysteries, and even … Continue reading Sindhu and Jeet’s Detective Agency by Chitra Soundar illustrated by Amberin Huq

Mission Taylor & Rose. Nightfall in New York by Katherine Woodfine

Taylor and Rose Secret Agents Katherine Woodfine

In case you missed my mission statement post, I’m undertaking a reading marathon to enjoy all four mysteries in the Taylor & Rose Secret Agents series leading up to the blog tour celebrating the publication of the finale Nightfall in New York! Read my previous Missions for Peril in Paris, Spies in St. Petersburg and Villains in Venice here! Mission … Continue reading Mission Taylor & Rose. Nightfall in New York by Katherine Woodfine